Carleton Rode Parish Council

Posted on 2019-03-04 09:59:07 by Barbara Slater

Fir Covert Community Wood now has its own page on the website, and lots of photos on the gallery page 


The most recent Carleton Rode Parish Council election was uncontested with six of the serving seven members returning to the council: Mrs Susan Dennis of Carleton Barn, Rode Lane; Mrs Daphne Hughes of Cholmeley Lodge East, Flaxlands; Mr John Laurie of The Granary, Hall Road; Mr Simon Leeper of Jasinara, Flaxlands Road; Dr Barbara Slater of The Steam Mill, Mill Road; and Mr Roger Sparrow of Kilmurry, Fen Road.

Mrs Marjorie Greenwood of The Ashes, Ash Lane, did not seek re-election after serving on the council since May 1983. Mr J. Chandler was coopted onto the Parish Council at the meeting on 15 September 2015. Mrs Hughes resigned from the Parish Council in January 2017, leaving a casual vacancy which was filled by Kevin Greenwood. We were delighted that more than one parishioner expressed an interest in the vacancy.

The Parish Clerk is Mr P. Jeffery, Old Schoolhouse, Church Road, Carleton Rode ( 

Parish Councils

Parish Councils were set up on 1 March 1894 by an Act of Parliament and Carleton Rode Parish Council met for the first time at the Workman’s Rest just before Christmas of that year. The new council agreed to pay one shilling and six pence for fire and light each time it met and the clerk was ordered ‘to buy a tin box for the purpose of keeping all parish books and documents’.

Things have changed a lot since then – certainly documents are no longer stored in a tin box. Parish councils are the smallest and most local rung of local government in England. Based on the population of the parish, Carleton Rode has a membership of seven and the only paid employee is the clerk. The council has modest but important powers which allow it to support the community and reflect the views of parishioners. For example, in planning matters the parish council is consulted on applications within the parish or near its boundary before the matter is determined by South Norfolk Council or Norfolk County Council. The council also has some fund-raising powers and each year it sets its precept requirement. This is the smallest of the four elements which make up the council tax bill. It was raised to £2,000 for 2015-2016 and that is one of the lowest in South Norfolk. In recent years the council has spent around £3,500 per year although there are ups and downs.

Elections to the parish council are held every four years and there will be one again in May 2019. In the past there have been years when the number of candidates has been fewer than the seven seats available. In that case the council can co-opt someone to fill a vacancy or have another election. Anyone thinking about standing for election can get information about the process and what is involved in being a parish councillor from the clerk or South Norfolk Council’s website.

Carleton Rode Parish Council usually meets on a two-monthly cycle with extra meetings called as necessary. Meetings are held in the Village Hall, usually on a Tuesday evening, and at each meeting there is an opportunity for parishioners to come along and raise their concerns or give their views on local matters.

The current members of the parish council are:

  • Mrs S. Dennis, Rode Lane
  • Mr J. Laurie [chairman], Hall Road
  • Mr S. Leeper, Flaxlands Road
  • Mr K. Greenwood, Ash Lane
  • Dr B. Slater, Mill Road
  • Mr R. Sparrow, Fen Road
  • Mr J. Chandler, Mile Road

The clerk is Mr P. Jeffery, Old Schoolhouse, Church Road, Carleton Rode, NR16 1RW

The council’s e-mail address is

Below is the agenda for the next meeting of Carleton Rode Parish Council, to be held on Tuesday 12 March 2019, and the draft minutes of the meeting which took place on Thursday 3 January 2019.







The following documents relate to the Parish Council annual audit 2016-17 and are published as part of the transparency code relating to Parish Councils

Items below relate to 2015/16

Carleton Rode Parish Council Transparency Statement 30 June 2016